Specifications
Sourced specs
| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 36GB per stack (12-Hi) | via news.samsung.com ↗2024-02 |
| Memory bandwidth | Up to 1,280 GB/s (1.28 TB/s) per stack | via news.samsung.com ↗2024-02 |
| Speed | 9.8 Gbps per pin | via news.samsung.com ↗2024-02 |
| Packaging | 12-layer TSV stacking, ~50% higher capacity than prior 8-Hi HBM3 | via news.samsung.com ↗2024-02 |
| 2026 contract repricing | Supply contracts for 2026 deliveries repriced up ~20% | via biz.chosun.com ↗2025-12-24 |
Pricing
Price history, newest first
| Date | Price | Type | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-08 | ~$300 per stack (market-level HBM3E 36GB estimate)Market-level estimate applied across HBM3E 36GB vendors; Samsung-specific per-stack price not disclosed | Analyst estimate | via Silicon Analysts HBM pricing tracker ↗ | low |
| 2026-07-12 | ~$2 per Gb (HBM3E, 2H 2026 market level)HBM3E reported at $1.5-1.6 per Gb in 2H 2026 | Reported contract | via Digitimes via Seoul Economic Daily ↗ | medium |
| 2025-12-26 | ~$13 per GB (Samsung 2026 contract renewal, reported)Samsung's 2026 HBM3E renewal reported at $12.50-13.89/GB | Analyst estimate | via Seoul Economic Daily via Silicon Analysts (citing SammyGuru) ↗ | low |
vendor-official or multiple independent reports · single major report or several secondary · estimate or lone secondary source
Prices in USD, converted at each observation year's average exchange rate; the original figure and rate print under every converted price. How prices are sourced and graded ↗
Context
Notes
- Development completed February 2024; volume shipments and Nvidia qualification followed in 2025
- Per-stack contract pricing not publicly disclosed by Samsung; observations are market-level
Where it sits
In the stack
All specs and prices link to their original sources, dated as observed. Figures are market observations, not offers; treat each as of its date.